Growth – Grief

Many of us, throughout our lifetime, have grieved the loss of a loved one, a job, a broken relationship, an opportunity, a dream, or something that we valued was taken away.  During my grieving process, for any of those things, there is one thing that I realized; I could not grieve as others do (i.e., Kübler-Ross’ (1969) five stages of grief/loss: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance).  While reading her co-authored book on grief, I realized I could not be in denial, anger, depression when God is in control.  Once God allowed me to know that He was allowing this loss to occur, I had to accept it (or I chose to accept it).  Loss for me is a bittersweet experience: bitter because I will surely miss that loved one or the thing I thought I needed; sweet because I know my loved one is in a better place, finally got to rest, no longer in pain, that loved one is God’s child first, and/or God knows what is best for me and others.  One thing I am very grateful for (that made it easier to accept loss) was that God prepared me for that loss before it happened.  This was of great comfort to me.  Also, I must thank the Holy Spirit for comforting me and strengthening me while I grieved (remembering all our interactions and being thankful that there were no regrets).  Another thing to remember, even if you follow the five stages of loss, God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit will be with you at each stage; they will be that rocking chair or that comforting hug.  Through it all, don’t be afraid to express your emotions to God.

Author: destinydayblog

Someone on a journey to fulfill her destiny. Thank you to all that read and the follow this blog. I pray you will be blessed and share with others. Thank you!!!!

Leave a Reply

